Defeater unleash ‘Mothers’ Sons’ and announce new album

Defeater have just announced details of their new self-titled record; their fifth full-length together and their first album in four years.

It’s been a testing slog for the Massachusetts hardcore outfit, having been open about the toll touring has taken on them as bandmates and friends. 

Their official publicity release reads, “Years of touring took their toll on the friends that make up the current lineup of Derek Archambault (vocals), Jake Woodruff (guitar), Adam Crowe (guitar), Mike Poulin (bass) and Joe Longobardi (drums).

“Health, substance abuse issues, and ejecting a longtime member had made a touring hiatus necessary.  After a few months at home, working and decompressing, the fire to write a new record caught everyone in a major way.”

The first taste of the self-titled release comes in new track ‘Mothers’ Son’, a defiant three-minutes of crashing drums and brutal guitars, signalled by battle sirens and old war radio signals, before the onslaught of relentless chaos and, of course, Archambault’s signature hoarse vocals, hooks you in and keeps you there. 

Defeater’s new self-titled album, produced by Will Yip, drops on 10 May via Epitaph.

‘Self-titled’ Track Listing:

1. The Worst Of Fates
2. List & Heel
3. Atheists In Foxholes
4. Mothers’ Sons
5. Desperate
6. All Roads
7. Stale Smoke
8. Dealer / Debtor
9. No Guilt
10. Hourglass
11. No Man Born Evil

Now Reading:
Defeater unleash ‘Mothers’ Sons’ and announce new album
2 minutes read
Search Stories